Duma dum mast kalander!

Since I am sitting so vella in Kuwait during the holidays and don’t have much to do, apart from the occasional internship work, fun reading and watching movies, I have been venturing into the kitchen once in a while.

A few days back I made the Hyderabadi Dum Biryani. My non-vegetarian friends always make fun of me saying that biryani can NEVER be vegetarian and that anything that is called biryani or is supposed to be eaten has to have some meat in it. But that’s just what we made- Vegetable Hyderabadi Dum Biryani. Boy was it delicious!

I followed the recipe from this website here where Dassana gives out recipes for lip-smacking food and always has beautiful pictures of food that makes you really feel like cooking these dishes. Check out the recipe here – http://www.vegrecipesofindia.com/hyderabad-veg-biryani-hyderabadi-vegetable-dum-biryani-recipe/

Here is a picture of my attempt that almost failed because I ignored the gas with all the commotion online about the Higgs Boson particle being found! woohoo for that!

Image

My attempt at Veg Hyderabadi Dum Biryani

Doesn’t it look delicious?! Oh it was! So after all that absolute lack of modesty in my culinary skills, I will leave you to trying it out yourself.

Have a nice Sunday. I hope you are not being subject to watch Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham on TV right now. I can hear just the sound from the other room and I just cannot believe that Indian audiences could ever be corny enough to like that movie and I could be corny enough to have danced excitedly in front of the TV copying this,  even if I was 11 years old. 😐

Kthnxbye!

 

6 Comments

July 8, 2012 · 6:49 pm

6 responses to “Duma dum mast kalander!

  1. Funny thing is, even I used to rehearse that corny song in front of the TV.. Yay! I’m not alone… 🙂

    • rMU

      In some parts of India, they even flavour biryani with opium. everyone eats heaps of it and passes out. haha! doesn’t get better.

  2. dassana

    thanks for the positive words and link backs. much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

