My obsession with potty

I am obsessed with shit. Yessir, you read right. I am scatologically obsessed and my friends know that I usually have atleast one conversation about shit everyday.

My theory is that this is a hereditary behaviour which I picked up from my grandfather over the years. He is 86 now, but even when he was much younger he would be quite tensed about (a)time and (b)shit. So when we are to leave on trips or a journey, he would insist that we reach the train station 2 hours before the train actually leaves. We wake up at 4am to catch a train that leaves at 11am from the train station that is only one hour away. He was always nervous like that. But when coupled with potty, its a whole new level of absurdity. In a recent journey, when I had gone to get my grandparents to Bombay from our village,  he refused to get started on the journey because he hadn’t been able to shit since that morning.  He did coem with us finally, but that was only after he and my grandma fought World War III.

Anyway, I have taken it up from this amazing grandpa of mine and worry like hell if If can’t go, especially before a journey. I drink two glasses of hot water every morning to flush all ‘toxins’ out of my body. When we got the University internet student ids, I discovered that the Admin had put various filters on the University internet connection. How did I find out? It was because I Google-ed the word ‘SHIT’.

The first word I google-ed when I got my personal internet connection on campus was the ‘shit’.

Fortunately, I have good enough bunch of friends are used to me now and are not so disgusted if I talk about stuff related to this. Infact, they know that I will definitely know the solution if they are having a bad stomach. 😛

Incidentally, I also have friends who are as scatologically-obsessed as I am. One of them in my university even made an art exhibit revolving around this subject and made stencil paintings associating shit with political, scoial, sexual, popular, comic, anthropological conventions. It was really cool!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think Ivan is presently even using this for his Mphil thesis so you so how pre-occupied some of us about this subject.  Across most societies it is treated as something profane and talking about it is considered impolite, uncivilized, a taboo, indecent and a lot more. But I really don’t see why its so disgusting.

Everyone shits! Even the king and queen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Issues, Me, World

Leave a Reply

