Moving to Delhi and other things…

Salut!

Comment cava mes amies? I suppose there isn’t anyone reading this. Nevertheless, I am going to think that I am writing for the sake of my future biographer who will write a book on me because I am going to be such a big shot in life. :| :P

Anyway, life altering events happened a few months back! (Aren’t the smallest of things and events in everyday life also life altering in ways we will never know? hmmm)

1. I moved to Delhi.

So I had applied to two places for my Masters. One was CEFL in Hyderabad and the other was JNU in Delhi. I screwed up the CEFL entrance by reaching 20 minutes late for my entrance exam and din’t even finish the paper. The JNU entrance exam asked us random things about art, performance and cinema and it was such a top-of-my-head attempt that I was sure it would be another year of Bombay for me. What with all the hysteria about everyone in the Social sciences wanting to get into JNU.

Well well, so I got into JNU. (cue: mental jig :D) I love my course and the campus is awesome!! I shall be writing more about life here in future posts.

So anyway, Delhi is a huge move. Its got its own quirks and things I hate and things I love. But I am truely enjoying my time here. Its been just 5 months now, but like any other move, Delhi has been an insane learning experience. I just came across this , by the way, >>http://theshootingstar.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/moving-to-delhi-9-steps-to-survival/

2. I have moved to Delhi for good. sort of.

Yes, so I got through JNU and my brother TC got through the institution he had been vying for for his graduation. So Amma is moving to the Gulf with Appa. As a matter of fact, she is leaving from my native place today to catch her flight tomorrow. This was also the primary reason I din’t apply for any Masters in Mumbai. I wanted them to live together. We will not talk about this anymore. I needed this change anyway.Of course I miss Bombay but 20 years in the same place is not good at all for one’s development.  Its scary how I always want change. :|

When I say I have moved here for good , I mean that I have brought everything I own( except a large carton of books) , including my Scooty Monty , to Delhi. No one in Bombay now except some relatives and friends’ place to crash at. So I don’t know when will be the next time I will eat Jeevan ka Pani Puri.

This sort of breaks my heart and excites me too. I am mostly excited about the future and about life. :)

3. I live in hostel now. In the JNU campus. I even have a roommate!

4. KB is seeing/dating/in a relationship with someone else.

He told me this 2 days before my 21st birthday. I cried for 3 hours and haven’t ever since. (Oh no, there was this drunken weepy night 2 months back. But never, besides that.)

She likes him a lot and he likes her a lot. I was upset that he din’t tell me earlier. Everyone knows that I am super chilled out and such a liberal person. He could have just told me right when it sort of started in January and not led me on for so long.

I am done ranting about this. By the way, we are back in talking terms now and sometimes he tells me he likes me too. FuckThatShit.

5. Sachin sir and Geet got married on 4th February this year!! :D

I used to be part of a dance troupe earlier and Sachin sir was one of the choreographers with Geet as an assistant. So these are among the people who have made me believe in myself and told me that I could dance. They are like surrogate parents to me and always looked out for me ever since I’ve known them.

6. New discoveries!! Lots of travel! New people! Delhi winter. aaah! :D

Okay I am just adding stuff to make my last howmanyever months seem eventful. It has been eventful actually, but they each deserve a separate post. Soon soon.

Until then, here are glimpses of the different aspects of Delhi.

 

I haven’t clicked these images but I have been here, yea. Delhi seems like a place with as many disparities as Bombay. The only difference is that these disparities are clearly visible,  established, expressed and impressed upon all the time. To illustrate simply: Everyone travels by local trains in Bombay. Peon to PHD student to MD of the company. In Delhi, there seems to be a very clear divide- auto rickshaw,bus, AC bus, metro train, car, luxury car. Oh well, every city gives us moments to cherish and teaches us things, and I am excited about what this city has in store for me.

 

 

       

1 Comment

Filed under La vie, Love and all, My favourite people

One response to “Moving to Delhi and other things…

  1. Welcome to Delhi :) You’re right, the city has its quirks, and you love it as much as you hate it. Happy explorations & happy travels!

    ~Shivya
    http://indiauntravelled.com/

Leave a Reply

